For the 2017 Award Year, applications are due on July 31 , 2017. 

DETAILS & HOW TO APPLY - click here 

2020 Mom and the Perinatal Mental Health Society (PNMHS), with the generous support of Denver’s Zoma Foundation, announce the Maternal Mental Health Innovation Awards.  
These competitive awards will be presented annually to impactful programs that deserve recognition for leadership in supporting maternal mental health. It is time we share what works in addressing maternal mental health disorders, which impact up to one-in-five women during pregnancy and the postpartum period.  The award program seeks exemplary programs that should be lifted up as proven  models for broader adoption across the country.

Innovative Awards Program goals:

  • To recognize those who are supporting maternal mental health through innovative initiatives.
  • To facilitate sharing innovative models in order to scale and promote change in a rapid and effective manner nationally.

Three categories of Innovation Awards in Maternal Mental Health:

  • Innovative Programs in Care – Care models (both clinical and non-clinical) with strong outcomes for addressing maternal mental health and lend themselves to broader adoption. 
  • Innovative Community Solutions – Leadership, communication, and broad community engagement that brings focus to maternal mental health and sustainable engagement.  
  • Innovation in Policy and Advocacy – National, state or local legislative or regulatory advocacy efforts with impactful results stemming from passage and/or implementation. 

Award Details: 
In each of three categories, first place and runner-up awardees will receive: 
The first-place winner will receive $3,000 and
An honorable mention winner will receive $1,000. 

  • A representative from each of the 2017 winners will receive complimentary registration, hotel accommodations for three nights and travel costs for the PNMHS conference in November.  
  • The Innovation Awards will also be presented at the 2020 Mom conference in 2018 and the PNMHS conference in 2019.

Click here for details on how to apply!

For the 2017 Award Year, applications are due on July 31 , 2017. 
Winners will be selected by September 1, 2017.
Please email your application and supporting documents to

PRESS RELEASE - click here




The Travel Award Program is specifically designed for graduate students, medical students, residents or post-doctoral trainees in a field relevant to perinatal mental health. The goals of the program are to expose awardees to the breadth of opportunities available to clinical researchers, introduce them to investigators from other institutions, and facilitate the establishment of a peer group for the Travel Awardees.  

  • The applicant may have a training grant but not an R-series NIH award or equivalent. ​
  • Selected awardees will receive complimentary registration, 3 nights of hotel accommodation, a travel stipend (not to exceed $500) and a certificate acknowledging their participation in the program.

Early career applicants should submit to all items listed below sent as one PDF to 

Debby Tucker at no later than June 20. 

1.   An abstract based on original research (with results or a re-analysis of existing information that have not been presented or published in the past), or a proposed research design (without data) or a scholarly literature review in a relevant area.

2.  Curriculum vitae.

3.  Brief description (no more than one page in length) of research/career goals and aspirations.

4.  A nomination letter from a PNMHS member with a 500 word summary that provides information about why the candidate is deserving of a travel award.

The Travel Awards will be accepted through June 20, 2017.

Many thanks to the Seleni Institute for their generous sponsorship!

​​​​​​Call for Abstracts  ​- CLICK HERE TO SUBMIT AN ABSTRACT

​Perinatal Mental Health Society